The Book of Life

Deborah Harkness’s The Book of Life is a engrossing and fantastic end to an already incredible trilogy.  Diana Bishop and her family are still frantically trying to find the elusive Ashmole 782, but  things are never as simple as looking for that one book.  Family members are questioning Diana’s connection to Philippe de Clermont, lost family members are resurfacing, and family dynamics are drastically changing.  Not to mention Diana and Matthew are expecting twins and trying to keep their marriage strong.

I love this series!  Once Diana realizes her true powers she becomes an extraordinary witch, which is good since her husband is such a force to be reckoned with.  The magic is great and the characters are amazing!  Harkness creates such unique individuals and engaging interactions.  Each character has been so well developed that they lift off the pages and become so much more than the written word; it really feels like you are talking to your friends.   Even though the story line can turn very dark, Harkness puts  so much warmth into her pages.  There are always issues among family members, but everyone will step up and do the right thing when the family is threatened.  I am sad that the series is over, but I loved every book and am excited to see what Deborah Harkness comes up with next.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s